Graduate Students

  • Burge Abiral

    babiral1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Human-environment relations, multispecies ethonography, food studies, agriculture, land and labor, natural resource extraction, political mobilization, Turkey, Europe, Middle East.

  • Nathaniel Adams

    nathanieljohnsonadams@gmail.com

    Research Interests: South and Southeast Asia, anthropology of development, agrarian studies, human-environment interaction, knowledge systems, indigeniety, place and landscapes.

  • Elmirasadat Alihosseini

    ealihos1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Medical Anthropology, Middle East, Iran, anthropology of gender and sexuality, anthropology of reproduction, population politics, demographic transition, Islamic bioethics, bio-politics, anthropology of the state.

  • Ghazal Asif

    gasif1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Intimacy, gender, religious identities, literatures, urban publics and humor, South Asia (Pakistan).

  • Swayam Bagaria

    sbagari1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: South Asia, religion and violence, temple trust networks, labor service and servitude, critique in philosophy and anthropology.

  • Mariam Banahi

    mariam.banahi@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Afghanistan and Germany, kinship and migration, war, trauma, death and the dead.

  • Onder Celik

    ocelik2@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Treasure hunting, magic and the occult, archaeology of the contemporary, Turkey.

  • Sruti Chaganti

    schagan2@jhu.edu

  • Mikaela Chase

    mchase7@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: South Asia, India, biopolitics, law, suicide, death and dying, palliative and end of life care, asceticism, Jainism, gender, secularity.

  • Marios Falaris

    mfalaris@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Precarity, migration, home and homelessness, hospitality, violence, South Asia

  • Zeynel Gul

    gzeynel1@jhu.edu

  • Fouad Halbouni

    ffawaz@jhu.edu

  • Gregoire Hervouet-Zeiber

    ghervou1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Anthropology of science and medicine, biology, psychiatry, Russia and the Soviet Union, violence, PTSD.

  • Heba Islam

    hislam1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Militarization, securitization, urban socialities, War on Terror, urban infrastructure, South Asia, Pakistan.

  • Kunal Joshi

    kjoshi8@jhu.edu

  • Paul Kohlbry

    pkohlbr1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Israel/Palestine, settler colonialism, private property, capitalism, land registration, political economy.

  • Victor Kumar

    vkumar20@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Healing practices, United States, acupuncture, diagnostics, touch, empathy, illness, the self, Chinese medicine.

  • Zeeshan Mahmud

    Zeeshan@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Anthropology of literary philosophy and citizenship, gender and development, modern warfare, minority histories and rights, constitutional development, Pakistan, British India and the United States.

  • Emma McGlennen

    emcglen1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: West Africa and North Africa, anthropology of Islam, Sufism, pilgrimage economy, oral tradition, gender and sexuality, law, sovereignty, migration, ethics.

  • Benita M. Menezes

    bmeneze1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: South Asia, India, infrastructure, political economy of land, sociology of law, moral economy, precarity.

  • Basab Mullik

    bmullik4@jhu.edu

  • Sumin Myung

    sumin.anthro@gmail.com

    Research Interests: Ecological & environmental anthropology, anthropological STS, history of science and technology, the field sciences, ideas of nature, plant and forest, anthropogenic ecologies and landscapes, apprenticeship, philosophical anthropology, futurity, the two Koreas, East Asia.

  • David Platzer

    David Platzer

    dplatze1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Autism, technology, social entrepreneurship, medical anthropology, philosophical anthropology.

  • Maya Ratnam

    mratnam1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Human-environment relationships, South Asia, anthropology and ecology. Indigeneity, landscapes, and place-making; the poligics of land and forest access; non-human ontologies; climate change and the anthropocene; ordinary ethics, aethetics and performance.

  • Sarah Roth

    sarahroth@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Medical Anthropology, Cancer Genetics and Genomics, Narratives of Care, Gender and Sexuality, Ethnographic Writing, United States.

  • Arpan Roy

    arpanroy@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Kinship, structuralism/post-structuralism, Islam, psychoanalysis, language, Israel/Palestine, Romani people.

  • Mac Skelton

    jskelto2@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Iraq, Lebanon, Movement, War, Illness, Care, Palliation, Narrative, Pilgrimage.

  • Thomas Thornton

    tthorn12@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Christianity, incarceration and reentry, US studies (US South), the body and its practices, ethics, race, semiotics.

  • Patricia Madariaga Villegas

    pmadari1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Urban marginality, ordinary ethics, healthcare, gender, biopolitics.

  • Anna Wherry

    awherry1@jhu.edu